Sanctuary

I have wandered from place to place to find my sanctuary.

 

And I have found it in the warmth of his hands.

I have found it in my sister’s bubbling laughter,

With the pile of books I keep under my blanket.

And in the quiet listening ears that never betrayed me.

 

I have found my sanctuary with the One who created me.

And I have found it in the checks of my To-Do List.

I have found it under the tree I call mine.

And I have found it in the clouds that remind me of sea monsters.

 

I have found not one, but many sanctuaries.

Yet I often find myself homeless.

 

I always forget to look within myself.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

